Career Goals for 2012

It is a new year, and with a new year comes new goals. Yeah, yeah, I know everyone always says they have a resolution for the new year, and then they usually drop that resolution within a month. Although I have made a new year’s resolution to be more organized around the house, I decided that I was going to make a career oriented resolution. Here goes.

Resolution #1: Try to Attend a Networking Event at least 10 times This Year.

We all know that networking is the key to building relationships in your profession. It doesn’t matter what profession you are in – lawyer, sales man, CEO, electrician, everyone needs to have connections. As many people have told me throughout my life – it isn’t what you know, it’s who you know. If you are looking to transition out of your job, looking for clients, or looking for business opportunities then you need to get out there an

d meet people. Being that I am relatively shy when I don’t know someone, it has always been kind of hard for me to push myself to go out there and network. But this year is a new year and I am going to force myself to do it, even if it hurts during the process.

Resolution #2: Become a Member of Toast Masters

For those of you who don’t know what Toast Masters is, it is a group of people who get together and give presentations to help each other improve their public speaking skills. Even if you are not in a public speaking profession, I think being able to carry yourself through a conversation with your peers, speaking with confidence in the boardroom, or being fearless in court requires you to have confidence in yourself to speak in front of others. I have looked into the Toast Masters group in Atlanta and they meet every Wednesday from 12-1. My goal is to try to attend one of those meetings the next Wednesday that I don’t have any lunch plans or obligations.

Resolution #3: Take on Some Pro Bono Work

For those of you who don’t know, I am an attorney. Attorneys have great opportunities to provide pro bono services to those in need. What is pro bono work? It is essentially when you take a case and do all of the work for free. Why would someone want to do that? To give back to their community, or in the case of a young lawyer, gain some first hand legal experience. The problem with pro bono work is that you must have someone willing to support you. I am fortunate enough to work for a fabulous law firm and have a boss that actually encourages me to take this type of work. So, within the next year I plan to try to take on a pro bono case.

Resolution #4: Read More Career Oriented Books

I am an avid reader. If I could have my choice of book it would be Women’s Fiction, but I will read anything you give me. I have read a few career oriented books, but I don’t read enough of them. There is a lot of good advice out there from people who know, or at least claim to know, what they are talking about. My goal is to read one career oriented book a month and report back to you on my findings.

So there we have it, my career resolutions for 2012. Do you have any career resolutions?

Leave a Reply

